Canyons District's COVID-19 Action Plan, Updates | Read More >

What is the School Community Council?

Serving on our School Community Council is a wonderful way for parents to be actively involved in their children’s education. Each year, the school receives a distribution of funds from Utah’s School LAND Trust Program, and it’s the Council’s job to prioritize how these funds will be used to address the school’s greatest academic needs. School Community Councils hold elections once a year to fill open seats, and are comprised of parents and school employees, including the principal. Parents make up the majority of the Council, outnumbering employees by at least two. Working together, Council members review school data, identify school needs, establish school goals (or a success plan), and allocate LAND Trust funds toward accomplishing those goals. School Community Councils also discuss school digital and safety plans, and throughout the year, serve as an advisory group to the school principal, district administrators, and the Canyons Board of Education. In this role, the Council fosters communication between the school and the community on local school issues, and is a vital partner in fulfilling Canyons’ college- and career-readiness mission. Resources to assist Council members in fulfilling their roles and responsibilities can be found on Canyons District’s website.

2019 – 2020 LAND Trust Funds Received:

$41,489.64

2019-2020 Council Members

Please feel free to contact any member of the council with items you would like to have presented at the next meeting.  

Justin Jeffery – Principal
801-826-9025
Justin.Jeffery@canyonsdistrict.org

Jacob Prestwich – Parent/Chair
801-833-3109
JacobPrestwich@gmail.com

Gary Merrill – Parent/Vice-Chair
801-598-5265
Gmerrill79@gmail.com

Jessica Smith – Parent/Note-taker
801-718-9343
Jessica.lashelle@gmail.com

Penny Armour – Teacher
801-826-9025
Penny.Armour@canyonsdistrict.org

Susan Homer – Teacher
801-826-9025
Susan.Homer@canyonsdistrict.org

Milena Zarubica – Parent
801-598-5265
Milena.Zarubica@gmail.com

Jen Coccimiglio – Parent
801-243-3877
davejencoccimiglio@yahoo.com

Rebekah Gardner – Parent
801-471-4116
bekahwd@yahoo.com

Greg Liddiard – Parent
801-699-0187
Greg.Liddiard@gmail.com

Kaydee Mcmahon – Parent
801-554-7817
mcmahonwich@gmail.com

Elizabeth Seeley – Parent
801-661-6845
Elizabethaseeley@gmail.com

Christopher Sharp – Parent
714-310-0696
Christopher.j.sharp@gmail.com

Ryan Stanley – Parent
801-540-4168
Drstanley1@hotmail.com

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule

All meetings will be held at Park Lane Elementary in the conference room unless otherwise noted.

September 12, 2019 @ 7:00 PM

November 7, 2019 @ 7:00 PM

January 9, 2020 @ 7:00 PM

March 12, 2020 @ 7:00 PM

April 30, 2020 @ 7:00 PM

May 2020 

2019-2020 Minutes, Agendas, and Reports

Close Menu
Translate »